daily life, Food, general, life, Lifestyle, recipes, Uncategorized

Food for thought

Andddd it’s time for another addition of recipes for you guys! We ended up buying an instant pot a few weeks ago and have been loving it! A couple of the meals have been made in it but don’t fret, there are a couple recipes here where my good ole stove top and oven was put to good use.

Spicy Creamy Shrimp Enchiladas
Let’s go ahead and start off with some all around goodness. At first, I was a little skeptical on how these would turn out but let me tell you….they are beyond worth it. One up front note I will make about these is that instead of using those blah tortillas, I used these uncooked tortillas that I threw on the skillet first and then filled with this delicious mixture. Trust me. It makes a world of difference using a better quality tortilla for this or really anything you need a tortilla for. Anyways, back to the point. You can’t really go wrong with this recipe. It’s the perfect mesh of flavors. Even hubby complimented it and had seconds. In her recipe, she only managed 4 enchiladas. I, however, used a 13×9 pan and ended up getting 6 out of the recipe. (Maybe my tortillas were smaller than hers). Either way. I’m not complaining.

Three Cheese Chicken Broccoli Alfredo
Y’all…I was lapping it up like someone who hasn’t eaten in months. (or maybe my pregnant self was just really hungry). But I cannot recommend this enough. It was incredibly easy and quick to make and I had plenty of leftovers. The hubby doesn’t like alfredo much so he personally didn’t like it but hey, more for me!  Now, let me go ahead and let you know that I did change the recipe. Sorta. The recipe calls for a whole pound of penne pasta. I, however, used a half pound of fettuccine noodles and added a little more broccoli and chicken (mostly bc it was cooked and I didnt want to waste it). This allowed for the proper sauce to noodle/mix ratio so I’m not sure how it would have been if I used a whole pound of penne. I think any way you choose to make this dish, you’ll be so head over heels with it that it won’t matter what kind of noodles you use!

Potato Cheese Soup
This was a recipe I happened to make in the lovely Instant Pot I was telling you guys about. It’s a “pressure cooker” recipe but I’m sure you can figure out a way to modify it for the stove top or even for the slow cooker. This was another recipe the hubby didn’t like because well, he’s just not a fan of cream/potato soups. Once again, I was quite happy to eat the leftovers! The recipe calls for 1 cup frozen corn and in my personal opinion, that just is not enough so I added a whole 12oz bag and it was the perfect amount. At the very end, the soup was still a little too thin so I turned on the saute option on the instant pot and did bring it to a boil (even though it says not to). I’m glad I did because it thickened it up to the perfect consistency.

Instant Pot Cubed Steak
This one may be something for a slow cooker or pressure cooker. I’m not sure how it’d be on the stove top unless you kept the heat way down and cooked for a while. But…for anyone using the instant pot or pressure cooker for this recipe, these cubed steaks are amazing.  She set the timer for 4 minutes but based on some of the comments, I opted to set mine for 10 minutes and they came out perfect. Even though I did not add the steak sauce in there, everything had plenty of flavor and combined quite well with the mashed potatoes I made to go along with it.

Cinnamon Roll Cake
And to finish up today’s segment, I, of course, have to include a dessert.  I’m not the biggest fan of cinnamon rolls but occasionally do like to indulge in one. I prefer ones with more of a biscuity texture and they are hard to come by. Not to mention, it is a chore trying to make them. So I managed to find this recipe for a cake version that I broke down and tried. It can be a little tedious to make but overall not too bad. This is by no means healthy and NOT recommend to those who can’t have much sugar. First off, it smelled amazing coming out the oven. Secondly, I thought I was going to have a heart attack eating a piece of it just because it is that sweet. I even made the comment to a friend whom I text the recipe and said that I don’t know if I’ll be able to eat any more. Well, I did. The next day and the day after and the day after. It really is addictive. The hubby managed to even eat several pieces while it lasted so you know it’s an approved recipe!

I’ll leave you with just these few recipes! I’ve got several others in the mix that I don’t want to throw too many at you at one time. Do tell if you end up making any of these.

Thanks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

