Your Recipe Recap

It’s been a few months since I’ve posted recipes for you guys and so I figured this was the perfect opportunity to catch you up on some I’ve made recently. Take a look:

Cajun Red Beans and Rice
This was amazing. I’ve made this a couple times now with the second time around using vegetable stock instead so it was vegetarian friendly for my sister who was visiting. It was quite the hit. The only thing is that the recipe says to cook for 2-2 1/2 hours but I have had to cook it for about 4-4 1/2 both times of making it in order to get my beans tender. I personally don’t mind as it’s totally worth the wait! (I plan on trying to make this in a pressure cooker next time!)

Crawfish, Shrimp, & Lump Crabmeat Etouffee
So much yes to this one as well. Sure, it’s a little pricey to make but considering that it makes quite a bit and offered us several meals out of it, the overall price wasn’t bad at all and still manages to be cheaper than going out to dinner and finding this somewhere. Initially when making this, it didn’t look like it was going to make much but when all was said and done, it did turn out to be quite a bit. But seriously, I don’t think anyone can go wrong making this. And being from a Cajun family, I know I did my grandma proud. (I plan on making this the next time she visits!)

Taco Soup
Just like the above, this turned out to be a great meal. However……I am warning you…..DO NOT make this the same week you make the Cajun red beans and rice. I think this was the next meal I made after it and man did I regret it. Just all a little too filling and a little too much for your system to handle. I’d definitely space those two meals apart. You’ve been warned……..Otherwise, this is a quick little meal that renders big flavors. It’s the perfect weeknight meal that I think will win over the whole family. Give it a try!

Butter Dip Buttermilk Biscuits
There are pros and cons to this. It did not come out like hers so I dug into the comments section and read up on other people’s woes. Thankfully, I wasn’t alone. It apparently has to do with me living in a higher altitude as well as the buttermilk. Clearly I’ll have to make adjustments for the higher altitude but the buttermilk threw me for a loop. Different buttermilks with different fat contents will produce different results. Commenters stated that it’s really just a trial and error at that point and you’ll have to play around with portions to get it to the proper consistency. Another issue I ran into was the pan size. She used an 8 x 8 square pan which I do not have so I chose to use a 9in round deep baking dish. I should have opted for just a larger pan as my biscuits came out too thick and dense doing it in this manner. These biscuits have major potential so I haven’t given up on them but I will have to experiment when I make them again. Maybe you’ll have better first time luck?!

Peach Dump Cake
Another trial and error recipe I’ll have to correct if I decide to make again.  I definitely messed up but I also think the recipe might have a little flaw as well. Again, the higher altitude I believe might have had a slight influence on it but not the issue. First off, I didn’t use fresh peaches as indicated but instead used drained canned peaches. That was my downfall. I drained them but didn’t let them drain enough so the final product ended up a bit too watery/juicy. Some of that though was the mixture itself. The bottom portion of the cake came out too custardy. Maybe it was supposed to (which almost makes sense based on the ingredients) but for my personal taste, I don’t like the custard type. Now if we are talking about the crust…that part I love! I love making peach cobblers that use the boxed cake white mix as the topping. It’s so delicious! Will someone try this recipe and see if you can conquer it?!

 There you have it! A few recipes to get you going for the week. Stay tuned for the next installment of deliciousness. In the meantime, let me know if you end up making any of these. 

 

Leave a Reply

