Food please?!

Let’s face it. Who doesn’t like to eat?! Food, I feel, is a part of who we are. I’d even go as far as saying it ‘speaks to our souls.’  (That might be taking it a little far but all you fellow foodies out there know what I mean.)

Have any of you ever heard of Sous Vide cooking?  (See link). It’s basically a water bath for cooking that ensures the food is cooked perfectly and your food retains it’s moisture and plenty of flavor. I’ve had food cooked by it previously and really quite enjoyed it so we finally jumped aboard and got one for ourselves recently. It seems kind of pricey but let me tell you, it’s worth every penny. Hands down.  Food just comes out so much better! And that’s just a plus all on it’s own.

Anyways, since acquiring this lovely little tool (we went with the Anova but there are several brands you can get), I’ve decided now would be the best time to get back into the swing of things and get to cooking again and share some recipes I’m trying now and ones I’ve whipped up months ago that haven’t been shared. You lucky dogs! So let’s begin with a few of the recipes I think you’ll quite enjoy.  Please note: you clearly DO NOT have to have the sous vide in order to cook any of these dishes. It was merely letting you guys know about the product is all.

Butter poached shrimp with spaghetti, lemon, & chives
So fresh! And quite enjoyable. It’s slightly different because of the lemon but it was a nice change from all the typical sauces you see paired with pasta. I did end up using linguine instead of spaghetti noodles as I just like them better (and personally think it was a good call).  I chose to add more chives than needed and probably could have added a little more (maybe even a little more lemon as well). One thing I will say is if you don’t like spicy, stick to the amount of red pepper it calls for. I didn’t feel it looked like there was enough so before tasting it, I added more…. thankfully I didn’t mind the spice! For those of you without a sous vide, just saute your shrimp as normal and you’re good to go.

Crispy Cajun Shrimp Fettuccine
Worth it. That’s what I’m going to say about this one. I discovered this a couple months back and made it and man was it good. So good that I told a few people about it the next day who ended up making it a couple days later. They in turn were telling all their friends about it…the cycle just continued. It’s a perfect blend of everything and did I mention SUPER easy to make?!

Peanut butter pie
Imagine a giant Reese’s cup…the bliss you experience with each bite. Ok. Now make this pie! It’s very rich and all you need is a small piece so it’s ideal for when you have guests or if you need to bring something somewhere. I’ve made this a few times now and it’s been a hit every time! You really can’t go wrong with this one. And don’t worry. Mine NEVER came out all pretty like hers. Rather, it looked like more of a big blob of IDK what. But taste was on point!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese
I thought I’ve shared this one in the past but I couldn’t seem to find it. I’ve only made this once because, well, it’s that good and I’m purposely refraining from making it so I don’t get addicted.  This one may sound a little odd but let me tell you, it’s pure bliss. It calls for Italian bread but I ended up using sourdough. Either one would be great so no worries on that end.  This is definitely something anyone would love (and hey any vegetarians just leave off the bacon and it’d be equally delicious).

Garlic Herb Tomato Goat Cheese Dip
SOOOO good. I had the pleasure of tasting this at a group potluck my team at work had one day. After the amazingness I experienced, I knew this was something I had to add to my list. It’s super easy to make and is sure to be a crowd pleaser without a doubt. It may sound a little “too” fancy but it really is ideal for any occasion. Please, give this a try!

Actually….please give everything on here a try! I don’t think you’d be disappointed with any of these (and I’d clearly tell you if there would even be a possibility).

Leave a Reply

