activities, Food, general, health, Journal, life, Uncategorized, writing

Recipe Experimenting

Food.  I mean really…who doesn’t love it?!  I wake up thinking about it. I daydream about it. I go to sleep thinking about it.  I really love food.  So….I’ve decided it’s time to get back to cooking.  Find my mojo again. So off to Pinterest I went.

I used to be a pretty dang good cook. Then after years of only making basics to keep up with our schedules, my skills took a serious dive for the worse. (I messed up hamburger helper….yea.)  But I’m back! Or on the uphill climb I should say.  I even decided to start meal planning.  Even though this won’t be necessarily kept up all the time, it will at least be a start and some organization for at least weekend meals and maybe one or two during the week. I’ll even be working on some crafts to make an organization board of some sort to keep up with a few things.

With all that being said, you lucky readers get to experience some new recipes yourselves, as I’ll be sharing what I’ve made during the week and let you know my thoughts on them.  Let’s begin, shall we.

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Garlic & Butter
Overall, this dish came out pretty good.  I ended up using basil instead of parsley as she left it up to me which one to pick and added onions to the mix. I ended up pairing this with some pork chops on Thursday and Jalapeño sausage on Friday since there was plenty squash left over.  (Hubby also sautéed some more onions and we threw those on top…so good!)

Grilled Pastrami Sandwich
This doesn’t actually have a link for it because it’s something I came up with a little while back and trust me, it’s awesome.  (As a side note, I’m sure this would be pretty good with just about any meat).
__Start out with adding butter to a skillet and throw in some chopped onions to sauté.
__While those are going, butter outside slices of fresh bread from the bakery (I use Italian but I’ve used sourdough before and it was equally delicious).
__On one of the slices, on the inside, spread a thin layer of barbecue sauce.  (I use Sweet Baby Ray’s).
__Once the onions are done, set aside and add slices of pastrami to the skillet and sauté for a few minutes on each side. (I just use deli pastrami.)
__Start compiling your sandwich.  I usually either use mozzarella or provolone cheese (or occasionally that shredded italian blend).  Add your cheese, onions, and pastrami to the bread and throw the sandwich in the skillet til each side is nice and golden.
__Enjoy!!  It’s sooooo good.

Slow Cooker Salsa Verde Corn Dip
You can never really go wrong with a crockpot anyways so of course when I found this recipe, I was stoked.  It definitely doesn’t disappoint!  It is different for sure but I love the twist to it.  I’ve tried it warm and fresh out the fridge.  I personally think it’s better warmed.

Three Ingredient Peach Cobbler
Three ingredients!!!! Three!!  Well technically I made it four but still!  This dessert is so simple and not to mention smells heavenly when it’s baking. I did end up adding cinnamon to it right before popping into the oven and had to bake it 45 minutes which isn’t too far off from her 30-40.  Is it the best cobbler I’ve ever had, not quite, but is it totally worth it…yes!

And lastly, Brown Butter Tomato Sauce & Cheese Ravioli (featured image)
I’ve had my eyes on this recipe for a while now and finally gave it a go.  I paired it with baked chicken with a panko seasoned crust. I went ahead and added onions to the sauce because, well, I love onions.  It doesn’t compare to the homemade tomato sauce we usually make but I’d be willing to give this another go.

 

Leave a Reply

