Hello! Bonjour! Hola! Annyeonghaseyo!

I’ve had this blog post in my drafts for several days now but unsure if I’d post it or just delete it and choose a different topic. But…after running across Ramen & Inglenook‘s post regarding “five beautiful Japanese words, ” and seeing how she’s in awe with other languages, I decided to move forward in posting.

Each day passes by without us really doing something new.   We stick to the same routines, day in and day out and call that a life.  Sure, it works but there are so many hours we waste that could be filled with productivity.  “I’m too busy” or “I don’t have time for that” become our excuses when in reality, we DO have time.  We just choose not to utilize it properly.

Along with the past few years of wanting to better my photography skills, I’ve also wanted to learn Spanish but put it off just the same.  So, in my recent promises to myself, learning Spanish/foreign languages has been added to my list.

I want to be open minded.  Expand my horizons.  Embrace different cultures.  I want to accomplish what many people already have and what many other people brush off as being irrelevant or unimportant.  To be bi-lingual—tri-lingual–however many linguals.  I’ve got a long way before becoming fluent in other languages and I’m sure I’ll stop practicing for a while, but I will get this.  I will learn.  I am learning.  Even if just learning the basic phrases is my starting point, it’s a beginning nonetheless.

I grew up around French and even took it in high school and would much rather become fluent in it than Spanish, but it’s not quite as useful.  I even learned a few Thai and Korean words when we lived over there but have since forgotten most of that too. I decided during my day to throw on my headphones periodically and listen to YouTube videos about learning Spanish and French while working.  Sure, I zone out and focus on work and haven’t really been listening to the video, but it’s still getting in my head.  It’s still soaking in there.  And when I’m not zoned out, I gladly repeat after the speaker the words and phrases.  It’s a great learning system really.  I’d really love to sit down with a native speaker and have them teach me, but it’s just not possible/feasible at this time.  Maybe one day.

What about you guys?  What’s your viewpoint on picking up another language?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

5 thoughts on “Hello! Bonjour! Hola! Annyeonghaseyo!

  1. Hey, good luck with this! 🙂 At this day and age, we all need to learn at least two extra languages. I’m working on my third. Hopefully after Japanese, I can start learning French! It’s such a beautiful language!

    Like

  2. Well I’m sure you’ll be able to master these languages in no time if you put your heart and soul to it. I think it’s great to be able to speak in multiple languages because it makes you smarter (of course), more confident of yourself and even well-prepared for any future circumstance when you’re lost in a foreign land which speaks foreign language and you need to seek help from the natives. Learning more than two languages makes life more meaningful, isn’t it? At least you did not waste it on unhelpful stuff:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

